What Is An Ignition Interlock Device?

An ignition interlock device connects to a motor vehicle ignition system and measures the alcohol content in the breath of the operator. The device prevents the vehicle from being started until the motorist provides an acceptable breath sample.

If ignition interlock is ordered by a court, the system must be installed on each vehicle the motorist owns or operates. The device must remain installed for at least six months. The ignition interlock restriction will be added to the driver license record even if the license is revoked. The restriction will appear on the back of the driver license document as “interlock device”.

If you have been arrested for DWI anywhere in New York and need an affordable and highly experienced New York DWI Attorney, give us a call at 1 800 879-6410 for a free consultation.

Can I Receive A Limited License To Drive If I Am Convicted Of Drunk Driving

In some cases, yes. Conditional licenses are available – mostly to first time offenders who agree to attend the 16 hour Drinking Driver Program (DDP).

But it’s vital that your attorney push for that – even before your trial date.

If you have been arrested for DWI in New York, take a look at our New York DWI Conditional License page for more information on how this process works.

And if you need help, call us at 1 800 879 6410.

I Lost My New York License For A DWI. May I Obtain A License In Another State?

In order to obtain a drivers license in any state you must fill out an application for that license.

Part of the application will include questions as to whether your license is suspended in any state.

Having a suspended license in New York would most likely disqualify you from obtaining a valid drivers license in another state.

If you need assistance in getting a Hardship License in NY after a DWI, give our offices a call at 1 800 879 6410 from anywhere in New York state.

What If I Don’t Take The BAC Test?

If you refuse to take a BAC test, your driver’s license will be suspended by the court at your first appearance (arraignment) and later may be revoked at a DMV hearing. You are also subject to a civil penalty of $500-750.

If you have refused a BAC, you will need a talented attorney to help get driving privileges.

Need help? Then call us anytime for free, no pressure consultation.

In the NYC area and Long Island, call us at 212 683 5912.
For WNY & Upstate NY, call (800) 879-6410.
If the call is long distance, or you reside elsewhere in NY, call us for free at 1 800 879 6410.

What Are New York’s Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits?

For Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), New York’s blood alcohol content BAC limit is .08%,

For Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) by alcohol – BAC more than .05% up to .07%, or other evidence of impairment,

For drivers who are under the age of 21 with a BAC of .02% or more, but not more than .07%, you will be charged with the traffic offense of “driving after having consumed alcohol.” You will then be provided with a notice to appear for a hearing before an administrative law judge of the Department of Motor Vehicles.

If your BAC is more than .05% but not more than .07%, the police will have the option of charging you with “driving while ability is impaired by alcohol” (DWAI). If your BAC is more than .07% but less than .08% you will be charged with the offense of “driving while ability is impaired by alcohol” (DWAI), and for those with a BAC of .08% or more, the charge will be “driving while intoxicated” (DWI). If you are charged with either DWI or DWAI, you will be arrested and dealt with in criminal court,

Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated is a BAC of .18% or higher.

If you or a member of your family has been arrested for DWI or DWAI in New York, call the Lawyers with New York DUI for a free, no obligation, no pressure consultation.

In the NYC area and Long Island, call us at 212 683 5912.
For WNY & Upstate NY, call (800) 879-6410.
If the call is long distance, or you reside elsewhere in NY, call us for free at 1 800 879 6410.